• About Heavy Hands Ink

The Great Escape

Poetry is such a phenomenal escape.

School is almost more than I can handle at the moment. I have a rough schedule and have professors who like to give a lot of work outside of class. I have hardly any free time during the week, and then I end up spending at least one day of my weekend doing nothing but homework. So much for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

Times have been rough lately, but there are three things that are able to set me free:

1. Writing a poem. After long, stressful days, fifteen minutes of writing rids me of my angst and frustration. I am thankful that God gives me the words to write when I need to write them.

2. Reading a poem. I love checking my e-mail inbox and having new submissions to the site. As I said in a previous blog, I look forward to reading each submission to the magazine. The concept of the site is such that it guarantees an entertaining, thought provoking, or emotion piece each time, and I always get that. I love reading submissions, and they take me to a world outside of the one I live in.

3. Looking into my girlfriend’s eyes. This sounds so cheesy and stupid, but its true. She is always supportive of me, always lets me be who I am, and is always fun to be with.

Never forget to make time for your escapes.

Leave a Reply

