• About Heavy Hands Ink

Crescendo by Davon Loeb is Out Now- and you should read it.

Hello Knockout Artists,

A few months ago, I got an e-mail from Davon Loeb. I’d published a few of his poems, and generally liked all of his work that I had seen. He asked me if he could author an HHI chapbook. If you look at the previous HHI chapbook authors- Kevin Heaton, David McLean, Michael Frissore, Gary Beck, and Emma Eden Ramos, there is a prevailing theme; they’re all f***ing awesome. I’m picky about who I do chapbooks for. Despite liking all of Davon’s work, I told him that I wanted to see a sampling of ten poems. If he hit ten home runs, I’d publish it. Not, “hey man, if some of them are okay I’ll publish it and maybe we’ll make a few bucks.” Ten home runs. Davon did it. When he sent over the manuscript, I was blown away. Davon put his insecurities aside, put himself on the line, and he got an opportunity. He made the most of it. It is on that note that I present to you “Crescendo.” The links are at the bottom of the post, but I would like to encourage you to read this interview with him first. When he e-mailed back the interview, he apologized for taking a while and said that it was because, “I’m a bit of a perfectionist.” No shit. Davon is talented and takes his time to craft his work. There is no unnecessary wordage or questionable line breaks. It is crafted wonderfully. Anywho, enjoy!

=====

What should we, the readers, know about Davon Loeb the man?

Since I was child, I have always taken of creative route. If it wasn’t painting, producing music, or writing, my life has been defined by my creativity. Currently, I’m extending that creativity to everyone around me. I teach Language Arts, and my classroom focuses on exploring students’ creativity through their writing. I hope to inspire my readers and my students to tell their own stories. It seems that everything I do in life brings me back to my passion for writing.

Who are some of your favorite writers?

Although I have many favorite writers, I would have to choose Pablo Neruda, Allen Ginsberg, and Arthur Miller. Pablo Neruda is one of the smartest poets I have ever read. I love how he uses every word to express a point, nothing is accidental. Allen Ginsberg makes me feel sensitive to everything around me; he describes the simplest things with eloquent grit and sophistication. Arthur Miller finds a way for his readers to identify themselves with his characters, each one is relatable. I’ve tried to make a collage of these authors through my writings.

What inspired you to put this collection together?

My perception of life reached a musical height where I needed people to experience it. I knew I had something good, so I kept writing until someone could hear the music too.

Describe the typical process you go through when writing a poem.

Random metaphors, images, or ideas jump in my head, normally while I’m driving or listening to music. I jot it down and design the poem around the idea.

Would you say that there is a certain theme to this chapbook? If so, what is it? What
issues do you touch on?

Humanity and its microscopic stimuli, I wanted to reach as many people and their experiences as I could.

I got positive feedback from readers on your work in NitTwitts: A Collection of Twitter-Length poems. Namely, the poem “1.5 Ounces.” It is accessible yet profound. With how much importance do you view accessibility?

I want my readers to understand my poetry. One of my college professors said the hardest thing to do is write a simple metaphor and let it explain itself.

What are your favorite unpublished pieces in this collection?

Some of my favorite pieces in the collection are unpublished. “Distinguished Scents” has been one of my favorite poems for a long time, but no one else seemed to enjoy its humility. The poem, “Bastard” told a story about the man I never want to be, it was a very calming moment when I finished it. “Aunt Mildred” was a lot of fun to write because all my readers know a real Aunt Mildred.

What is it that made you want to do this chapbook through Heavy Hands Ink?

I have never worked with a publisher like Heavy Hands Ink. Writing the one hundred and fourty legth poems for NitTwitts: A Collection of Twitter-Length poems, was challenging, but it helped me dive into places of inspiration where I had never been. It gave me the confidence to present my collection months later. Heavy Hands Ink told me my work had a lot to offer; I don’t think I’ll ever forget that moment.

=====

Davon does have a lot to offer. Take him up on that offer.

Here’s the ebook:

http://www.lulu.com/product/ebook/crescendo/18683945

Here’s the print version:

http://www.lulu.com/product/paperback/crescendo/18683929

Enjoy!

-Maxwell

Leave a Reply

